About Harbor House
You must be 25 years old to rent this house! Harbor House is a warm and welcoming two bedroom, two bath fishing cottage that sleeps nine people comfortably. Located on the Ft. Morgan peninsula, directly on Mobile Bay, this beautiful cottage is also only 300 yards away from the Gulf of Mexico with its warm and breezy sugar white sandy beaches. With its great location and private pier with lights and a fish cleaning station and wireless internet this quaint house is perfect for the whole family, including the avid fisherman of the bunch.
This home has a wrap around covered deck that overlooks Mobile Bay and allows for awesome sunrise and sunset views. Be sure to enjoy an evening on the deck watching the dolphins swim into the sunset. The large well stocked kitchen is perfect for the family that loves to cook. This kitchen will come with everything you need and then some to prepare amazing meals with you family.
The master bedroom has a wonderful King size bed to add to your comfort. The second bedroom has a queen bed. If you have a few extra people there are two sleeper sofas and a roll away bed. For your convenience, this house also has two full size bathrooms, a washer and dryer, and dishwasher. Bring your boat or your jet ski?there is plenty of room for both!
Don't miss out on this piece of paradise!!!! This house does internet access. This home is pet friendly.
Map may not be 100% accurate.
Recent Reviews About This Property
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 40 reviews)
"This was our 3rd vacation trip this year (2018) at the Harbor House. We love everything about it. Clean, great location, friendly staff. We are planning more trips there in 2019."
"Yay! Sounds like you have found your "Home Away From Home"! Harbor House is about as close as you can get to the bay! That view is awesome! We look forward to booking your future trips! Please call our office directly to book your next trip because we offer discounts to our repeat guests!"
"loved it very nice house .Disappointed couldn't get on dock. saw a lot of pelicans."
"I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House! I'm sorry about the pier. When the hurricane came through recently, it pushed a lot of water in from the bay and unfortunately, left some damage behind. It has since been repaired, so come on back down and enjoy the pier!"
"Very good. House was clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed the pier and views of the bay. Rental staff was very responsive and pleasant. I plan on renting Harbor House again."
"Yay! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House! Isn't that view awesome? It was so nice to meet you and I look forward to booking Harbor House for you again!"
"The Harbor House is a great location. It is very well maintain and clean. The rental staff was very helpful. We had a wonderful time relaxing and fishing with our grandkids. Love the fishing pier. This was our second get away to the Harbor House and we plan to return. "
"Awesome! I am so glad you made some memories at Harbor House! Call us when you are ready to come back and make sure to tell us you are a repeat guest and let's see if we can offer you a deal!"
"Had a wonderful time at harbor house, did a lot of fishing, although mid august not the best time for inshore shallow water fishing. Did catch a nice 12lb speckled trout while casting a gold spoon catching ladyfish for live bait, she put up a heck of a fight, nice fish. I personally do not eat out at restaurants much, so the well stocked kitchen was a huge plus. For fresh shrimp and crabs I always drive the extra miles to get them at Billy's Seafood in Bon Secour always fresh and delicious. Would highly recommend Harbor House for your stay in Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan area, it provided everything I needed for a week of fishing and relaxation. Would definitely stay here again."
"That is awesome! Thank you so much for sharing with us about your stay in Harbor House! It sounds like you had a blast! Please send us any pictures you may have taken during your stay! We love sharing them on our Facebook page! When you are ready for more fishing, give us a call!"
"Harbor house was EXACTLY what I was looking for for our vacation! The views of the bay are incredible. It's like you have a front row seat to view the wonderful sunsets. The house was nice with a very well stocked kitchen. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to just relax and enjoy the view!"
"That is awesome! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Harbor House! The location on the bay is perfect for those beautiful sunsets and sunrises! Come on back!"
"The home was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay. Had fun fishing with our grandchildren. The fishing pier was great. Plan to return again. "
"Whoop! Whoop! Love to hear until next time!"
"This was our 5th stay and it was wonderful as always."
"We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House! And we love our repeat guests! I look forward to booking your 6th stay!"
"We thoroughly the stay at the Harbor House, and would definitely recommend this house to our friends. The kitchen was layed out nicely, well stocked utensil, and cookware. Loved the fishing dock, it was lighted and has a fish cleaning area, with running water and electricity. The area is nice and quiet, neighbors were very friendly.."
"Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House. Give us a review on our Facebook page and help spread the word about your stay with us! Come back and stay again soon!"
"Loved sitting on the deck and watching dolphins swim next to the sea wall. The house was nice and clean. Views of the sunset was great. Beds were very comfortable. The only suggestions I have for the owner is to replace the hood fan over the stove and to get some sort of drainage u fer the house for when it rains. It is a drive into town but we got use to it. "
"Whoop! Whoop! That is what we love to hear, someone enjoying this area as much as we do! So glad you got to relax out here for the month!"
"Excellent house and awesome location! "
"Yipee!! This is just what we love to hear! We hope to see you again soon!"
"This is a great location for a vacation. It was very clean, and well furnished, except, no blender. Views were great. The dolphins visited almost daily to chase the mullet. I thought some were going to acutally jump on the sea wall. They were so close you could see their teeth. There were hundreds of pelicans in the area and it was fun to watch them dive for fish. The fishing pier was great, even though, the water is very shallow. We caught white trout, specs, red fish, cat fish, and crokers. We caught bait off the sea wall with a cast net.
There is a standing water problem under the house after a rain, but that was not a problem for us.
We would recommend that when the arm chair in the living room is replace, you get a recliner. Us old folks like our recliner.
Overall, a great place for the family."
"Thank you! Glad to have you, we agree it's a great place to stay!!"
"We have stayed many times at this beach house & it never fails us!!!! Very clean!!!!! Beautiful views, a small walk to the beach, fishing on the back pier! It's perfect for this family with 3 boys!! Loved it & will continue to come back!!! "
"Yay!! We love to hear from our repeaters! Such a great place to visit, and we hope to see you again real soon!"
"Despite a tropical storm coming through for a couple of days - our stay was very pleasing and relaxing. Thank goodness for the wrap around porch where we could sit outside despite rain. Terrific location and dolphins everyday! "
"Yay! it is always relaxing to do some porch sittin', even with the rain falling!"
"We have rented 30 homes in our lives and never hit one that we would rent a second time. All changed now from easy to deal with rental firm to a perfect small home. Not one negative just wish was larger so could bring whole family. Will be a regular guest of Harbor House in future. Dolphins were numerous times a day and within feet of seawall and dock."
"Yay! We are glad you found the perfect vacation spot. "
"We love Harbor House and this made our 10th March there. The owner makes needed repairs and updates as needed and the rental staff at Sunset Realty are always kind and prompt if needed. The views are what makes this home so special and the covered porches."
"We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, always LOVE to hear from you and we appreciate the review!"
"Quiet, relaxing hideaway"
"We are glad it was relaxing while you were here, but certainly didn't understand why you wouldn't recommend us to others. Hope this was a mistake!"
"this home has water on three sides and has been recently remodeled it appears. large porch facing west to view the dolphins that come in daily. two tvs have dish network. the fishing pier is mainly for night fishing as the water is only two feet deep off it but is has a night light. two things should be known. if a rain comes, the parking area under the house will flood so you may need rubber boots to get your car out. one night we got a foot of water in it and took 2 days to drain. two other things are the washing machine is way out of balance and impossible to get access to the legs to correct and the kitchen has few glasses, cups or small utensils. a great view of the mobile ship channel."
"Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so sorry you had some issues while you were here. We have maintenance on staff, and if we are notified of a problem we send someone out immediately to rectify it. We hope you'll come back and see us!"
"This isn't a "fishing camp. " It is a hidden treasure. Comfortable, wonderfully decorated, well appointed; we felt right at home. We watched dolphins, pelicans, and schools of fish right from the deck and even from the master bedroom where the doors opened onto the deck. The way the house is situated and having your own pier made it feel like a private oasis. Our grandson said it was like being on a houseboat because you were surrounded by water. By far, our best vacation rental. Bayside beats beachside any day. Absolutely loved it. Spent the month of November and didn't want to leave. Close enough to Gulf Shores activities but far enough away for peace and quiet and Fort Morgan has awesome restaurants. Sunset Properties made the experience a breeze. The house was spotless and it felt like it was waiting just for us when we arrived. Already planning our next trip. Highly recommend. "
"Thank you so much for the review!! We are thrilled you had a magical time in our hidden treasure, Harbor House! Can't wait until you visit again!"
"Great Vacation spot and would stay again. It was close to Gulf Shores and other spots of interest. But was peaceful and calm. Got to see dolphins feeding and playing next to the sea wall. Interior very nice and comfortable. The fishing dock is very functional and caught a lot of fish off of it all week. The highlight for me was catching a stingray. "
"My husband and I had a great week at this rental. I do have some things to complain about though. First, the area around the house needs a lot of clean up and maintenence. Could be very nice with some landscaping. The decking around the house was loose and I almost broke my ankle stepping off of it. There was a rusted and broken down grill right off the porch area that was useless. How hard is it to pick up trash? There was another tiny grill underneath the house that was also rusted and useless. The pier was great and we enjoyed fishing. The floor in the kitchen under the refrigerator was unlevel so everytime you opened the door it would hit you in the back. The eyes on the stove were either too hot or nothing. There were ants in the kitchen and in the bathroom. There was no bath mat in the tub which was a fall hazard. There was sand on the bedroom floor in small bedroom. The master bedroom bed was awful. One side had a hump in it. It was just old and too hard. There were no GFCI plugs in the kitchen or bathrooms. The home just needs some TLC. For the price of the rental, it should have been nicer for sure. Also, the porch seating isn't comfortable at all. Take some lawn chairs to sit in."
"Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hate the property did not live up to your expectations. Yes, this home is aging. The owner is in the process of cleaning the yard and handling maintenance. This home is primarily for those who like to fish. Think of an ole' fish camp! We would love to have you stay with us again in a different location next time. We have a few other homes on the bay too. "
"Location was ideal! Property has mx issues. Grounds needs clean-up, repair needed at front deck steps, and toilet in master has leaking flapper. Property is showing its age. Property could be 1st class again with added attention. Overall we did enjoy our stay."
"We love our little Harbor House property! You're right the location is ideal. We fixed the steps and toilet, and notified the owner of your recommendations for improvement. Thanks so much for taking the time to review the property!!"
"This was our second stay at Harbor House we love it. Great location I don't think we will stay beach side again. Perfect for fishing. We will be back."
"enjoyed my stay at harbor house very much. Although quite a distance into Gulf Shores or Orange Beach it was a charming little cottage right on the bay with the beach across the street it was perfect place for my dog - she even got me up one morning to watch dolphins playing next to bedroom window! Cute wrap around porch and pier for casting a line. The house is slightly dated, but very clean and cute. "
"We loved Harbor House! Honestly, we rented this house just a couple of weeks out from our stay, and picked it mostly because overall, it seemed nicer than the beach-side options left at that point (meaning, we aren't fisherman and we didn't pick the bay-side on purpose). I'm SO glad we picked HH! It has such a beautiful view, we loved the pier and watching the birds and fish - it was a completely different beach experience for us (and I've been going to the beach for 30 years). The house is nicely furnished and has windows everywhere, and the covered porch is a lovely place to hang out. We would definitely rent here again. Also, the people at Sunset Properties were super helpful, our house was ready to check into early and they checked on us several times during the week."
"great fishing and crabbing!"
"We celebrated our wedding anniversary and had a delightful time in this secluded getaway where the dolphins would entertain us while we enjoyed the seclusion and quiet from the sheltered deck mere feet away. Although we were on the bay side, we were a quick walk across the road from the beautiful gulf beach. Sunset was very helpful, even accommodating our flight delays on the trip down. Our only hiccup was we lost internet service during our stay. Sunset was helpful, but CenturyLink was considerably less so. An upgraded grill would also be nice but not really necessary. We slept like babies on the king sized bed with the french doors leading out to that covered deck. We are already planning a return visit, just longer next time."
"Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay in Harbor House. We love that you chose this quiet house on Mobile Bay to spend your anniversary and your special time together. Don't you love watching dolphins play, seeing beautiful sunrises and sunsets and enjoying peaceful days on the porch overlooking the beautiful bay and also being close enough to the Gulf of Mexico to walk. Glad that you found Harbor House furnished so comfortably for your stay. Sorry you had issues with internet service and that they were not able to get it up and going before you left. however, sometimes it is great to be completely away from it all. Again, thank you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sunset Properties. Please call or go on line to book your next stay with us soon! Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff"
"The overall condition was good. The door from the bedroom to the deck hung when you opened or closed it. One of the steps going on to the pier was broken and you had to be careful with that. The lok on the main door is very tricky to open with the key and you have to WORK with it. The houe was very clean and neat on the inside. The furniture and beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious. I would stay there again. "
"Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at Harbor House. Sorry to hear that you had issues with doors and a step, be assured we have had maintenance take care of those minor issues. Glad that you found the house clean and comfortable for your stay. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a great experience and look forward to booking your next stay with us soon! Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff "
"Perfect house for relaxing, listening to the waves, sitting on the great covered deck and fishing."
"Our stay at Harbor House in Gulf Shores, Al was awesome!! The house was beautiful. The pier was great to fish from and our surroundings were very peaceful. We even got to wake up to dolphins every morning!! I would definitely recommend sunset properties for your vacation rental."
"This is our favorite place to stay when we travel to the Gulf Shores area. Very private. The private pier is perfect for the fishermen in my family. "
"Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you love our little fishing cottage as much as we do. It is perfect for fishing, relaxing with a good book and enjoying the spectacular sunsets over Mobile Bay. We hope you will call us to book your next stay soon! Keep an eye on our website and othe social media sites for future specials and upcoming events in our area. Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff"
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Harbor House. The location was just what we wanted. Away from the crowds and traffic of Gulf Shore and Orange beaches. Some of us went back to Gulf Shores one time. So be aware if your looking to do touristy things it's 18 miles back to them. The property is pretty much as depicted in the VRBO web site photo's except the exterior photo's are older. The pier is a little more weathered but still usable. You can't swim from it though because there is no way to get out of the water. The interior has been recently remodled and was very nice. Bring your own music player because there is not one in the house. Internet connection is very good. We were five adults and a child and we were very comfortable."
"Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Harbor House. We are so glad you enjoyed our little hidden gem on the bay and that it provided your group with all your needs. We hope you will call us soon to book your next stay. Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff"
"This was a very cute house inside and out. We enjoyed the views from the living room and spent a lot of time sitting out on the covered deck watching the seagulls and pelicans. It was also exciting to watch the dolphins swim by daily. We brought our kayaks and bikes and also enjoyed fishing on private dock.
Fort Morgan is fairly remote so there isn't much shopping or dining to choose from. We ate a few times at Tacky Jacks which had a great beachy atmosphere and good food. Walmart and all the other bigger stores and restaurants are about 18 miles away in Gulf Shores. It was a little too far away from entertainment for me but if your looking for a quiet time this is the place for you. "
"Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Horbor House, our quiet little nature retreat. It is a perfect spot for getting back to nature with the fishing, bird watching and dolphin sightings or for just relaxing and watching the beautiful sunsets over Mobile Bay. Glad you enjoyed dining at Tacky Jack's, always a local favorite, and although we are a little remote we hope you will plan another visit with us soon! Keep an eye on our website for future specials and upcoming events in our area. Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff "
"First time to stay on the bay. The house was great; clean, nicely furnished, adequately stocked. The staff was very professional and accommodating. The beach was close; but with the prior week' s rain, it was not in great shape.Sitting on the porch and pier was fabulous. ( Wicker chairs need to be replaced!) Good fishing in your backyard.
Only one negative: we had one day of hard, constant rain. Thank goodness we were told to move the car to the driveway. There is no drainage under the house and there was 2 feet of water. We were pretty confined that day as the side yard was flooded, too! This needs to be resolved.... No heavy rain, no problem! We loved the place and booked again for next year before we left!
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed Harbor little fishing cottage on the bay. It a cute cottage with everything you neeed for a relaxing visit and some great fishing too. Unfortunately the weather is not friendly to wicker will check on those chairs and replace as needed. We are sorry for the inconvienence of the drainage issue, it is a problem with that property but thankfully not a frequent one. We are glad you already booked for next year and look forward to seeing you then. Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff"
"Lovely time together with my husband in a lovely setting. We enjoy our visits to the mobile Bay Area , enjoy the sun, fresh seafood, bike riding and walks on the beach. Sunsets staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The people in the community are always kind! These are just a few of the reasons we keep returning!"
"Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoy our little paradise as much as we do and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us! Sincerely, Sunset Properties Staff"
"we love to stay there , this is our 3rd time in a roll to stay. could be a little cleaner we have had to clean the house over everytime we have stayed but we dont mind couse we like it there so much.."
"Thank you so much for your review! I have some great news for you about Harbor House. The owner has completely re-done the interior. This means a much cleaner property for you and your family in the future. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, The Sunset Properties Staff"
"We are so glad you had an outstanding time on your trip! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Sincerely, The Sunset Properties Staff"
"Great little house. Had a great stay and fishing was excellent."
"This property is fantastic!!! A little hidden jewel and we are so glad you had a chance to experience it. It is beloved by so many of our guests and the owner is in the process of doing upgrades. Be sure to book it again next year and see all the new upgrades. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, The Sunset Properties Staff "
"We loved staying at Harbor House for our weekend getaway. The fishing was great and was so convenient to be able to fish from your own private pier. Will definitely return to this property. "
"We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at Harbor House! This is a fantastic property that will be even better next year when you come. The owners are doing some major upgrades to this house to thank all of their repeat guests. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Thank you for taking the time to review this property. Sincerely, The Sunset Properties Staff"
"We find we keep returning as we feel pulled by the exceptional views of the magnificent sunsets, watching the ships enter and leave the bay. We enjoy waking to the singing of the birds, the swimming dolphins and great sunshine! The only complaint is the furniture is very worn in the living area and master bedrooms mattress is in need of replacement. The staff of Sunset Properties are always helpful and friendly. Thank you for all you do, we are looking forward to visiting again!"
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS CONCERNING THIS PROPERTY
No questions found, click the button below to ask the first one!Ask A Question
Share This Property
Want To Know More About This Listing?
Working with Sunset Properties -
I have vacation properties in Gulf Shores, and they are all with Sunset Properties. Although I live close by the job of renting, managing, promoting plus handling the maintenance and cleaning in order to maximize my rental income, takes a lot more time and effort than one person can oversee. They are a fantastic company.A
Finding your next home with Sunset Properties -
Renting with Sunset Properties -
We loved our time at The Indies in Fort Morgan! The condo was beautiful, clean, and well maintained. Our family of four was very comfortable in the one bedroom condo. We loved being a bit (25 minutes or so) from the commercialized and crowded Gulf Shores/Orange Beach areas. They were close enough to visit, but then we could get back to our own "semi-private" beach and relax. The checkout and checkin processes were extremely simple and the maintenance crew was right on the one simple question we had. We loved it and will definitely be back!N.Bauman
Working with Sunset Properties -
I have had three management companies, and there is absolutely NO COMPARISON between them and Sunset Properties. They are truly, in several senses, a family organization, with the owners living on-site, and all members of the staff truly like a family, among themselves, and in their relationships with the homeowners.G.Gilmore
Renting with Sunset Properties -
The location of the property itself was very nice and clean. The condo was even nicer in person and actually very roomy. Everything was clean and stocked very well. There's a great view of the beach. My favorite part was how quiet the location was. There wasn't much traffic and we rarely even seen other people. The beach was beautiful and very private. At most, we shared it with maybe 20 other people at one time. One time we were the only ones on the beach. There's a 20-30 drive to all the tourists type things depending on traffic which isn't too bad and there's a Dollar General just a few miles up the road in case you forgot something.S.Parker
Owner Review -
We selected Sunset Properties as the rental management company based on their long term presence and excellent reputation in the area. We are truly impressed by their professional attention to detail and personal care throughout the process to get our property ready for rental.Rebecca
Renting with Sunset Properties -
We went down for a 4 day fishing trip and had an absolutely WONDERFUL time. Navy Cove couldn't have been a better setting for the trip - the condo came with an electric boat lift, plenty of bait fish there in the marina that you can cast net for or catch on an ultralight, and quick access to red fish, jack crevalle, red snapper, king mackerel, Spanish mackerel, trout, etc etc. The condo was very nice and had one of the best views in the complex. It's an end unit with 2 balconies overlooking Bon Secour & Mobile Bay.E.DeLana
Owner Review -
We would never use any other company to rent our house, because the people at Sunset Properties take a personal interest in our property. All of these little things help the bottom line. And, the service--it is unbelievable. .Mrs.Vaughan
Renting with Sunset Properties -
We had an incredible experience at LA Getaway! The home was very clean and perfect for two young families to share. The beach is just around 100 yards away and extremely secluded - only a few other families down there with us. This was the best first beach getaway for our little ones! We are already planning for next year!!!M.New
Working with Sunset Properties -